Theatre In Los Angeles    
Your Source For What's On Stage In Los Angeles 

   Quick Search
OR
Search by date:

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  Sunday Dinner at Theatre 40 at The Reuben Cordova Theatre

Sunday Dinner

Theatre 40 at The Reuben Cordova Theatre
241 Moreno Drive Beverly Hills

Michael Matera, a young priest in the Chicago Archdiocese, returns to his parents’ home in the Bronx after his grandfather dies. The Matera clan is gathering at the family home for Sunday dinner. Soon after Michael arrives, his retired working-class father Eddie confesses a sin (more like a felony, really) to Michael. It’s a misdeed which could have serious consequences for other members of the family. To Eddie’s dismay, Michael refuses to grant him absolution. There are reasons for this (which won’t be given away here; You’ll have to see the play to find out). Eddie’s not the only one with secrets. Michael has a few of his own. He’s admitted to himself that he’s gay, but he hasn’t yet come out to his family. Things are about to get more complicated, as Michael’s female ex-lover (who is still interested in him) has also been invited as a guest for Sunday dinner. Can the Materas withstand the weight of so much sin, secrecy and shame? Would revealing all cleanse the family or destroy it?

Thru - Feb 16, 2020

Fri, Jan 24: 8:00pm
Sat, Jan 25: 8:00pm
Sun, Jan 26: 2:00pm
Thu, Jan 30: 8:00pm
Fri, Jan 31: 8:00pm
Sat, Feb 1: 8:00pm
Sun, Feb 2: 2:00pm
Thu, Feb 6: 8:00pm
Fri, Feb 7: 8:00pm
Sat, Feb 8: 8:00pm
Sun, Feb 9: 2:00pm
Thu, Feb 13: 8:00pm
Fri, Feb 14: 8:00pm
Sat, Feb 15: 8:00pm
Sun, Feb 16: 2:00pm



Price: $35

Show Type: Drama

Box Office: 310-364-0535

www.Theatre40.org


Click Here for Half-Price Tickets



  Sunday Dinner Reviews
  • Highly Recommended
  • Recommended
  • Somewhat Recommended
  • Not Recommended

Stage Raw - Recommended

"...Yet, despite its flaws, Sunday Dinner is redeemed by the strength of its story - so tense and vibrant that the audience's attention remains captivated through its end."
Read Full Review

Nikki Munoz



Follow Us On Twitter