Theatre In Los Angeles    
Your Source For What's On Stage In Los Angeles 

   Quick Search
OR
Search by date:

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  Head of Passes at Mark Taper Forum

Head of Passes

Mark Taper Forum
135 North Grand Ave. Los Angeles

Tony winner Phylicia Rashad gives a powerful performance in MacArthur "Genius Grant" recipient Tarell Alvin McCraney's acclaimed drama Head of Passes. Set in the mysterious shifting marshlands at the mouth of the Mississippi River, this modern-day parable inspired by the Book of Job finds Shelah's family and friends planning a surprise birthday party for her, but a dark family secret threatens to ruin everything. McCraney, who recently won an Oscar for adapting his own play into the film Moonlight, has been called "without question, the hottest young playwright in America" (Chicago Tribune). Find out why as this stirring drama comes to Mark Taper Forum from Center Theatre Group.

Thru - Oct 22, 2017

Wed, Sep 27: 8:00pm
Thu, Sep 28: 8:00pm
Fri, Sep 29: 8:00pm
Sat, Sep 30: 2:30pm & 8:00pm
Sun, Oct 1: 1:00pm & 6:30pm
Wed, Oct 4: 8:00pm
Thu, Oct 5: 8:00pm
Fri, Oct 6: 8:00pm
Sat, Oct 7: 2:30pm & 8:00pm
Sun, Oct 8: 1:00pm & 6:30pm
Wed, Oct 11: 8:00pm
Thu, Oct 12: 8:00pm
Fri, Oct 13: 8:00pm
Sat, Oct 14: 2:30pm & 8:00pm
Sun, Oct 15: 1:00pm & 6:30pm
Wed, Oct 18: 8:00pm
Thu, Oct 19: 8:00pm
Fri, Oct 20: 8:00pm
Sat, Oct 21: 2:30pm & 8:00pm
Sun, Oct 22: 1:00pm & 6:30pm



Price: $95

Show Type: Drama

Box Office: 213-628-2772

www.centertheatregroup.org/theatres/mtf/


Click Here for Half-Price Tickets


Mark Taper Forum Seating Chart


Nearby Restaurants

  Head of Passes Reviews
  • Highly Recommended
  • Recommended
  • Somewhat Recommended
  • Not Recommended

Los Angeles Times - Recommended

"...The production, which opened Sunday at the Mark Taper Forum under the direction of Tina Landau, is both towering and teetering. Rashad, reprising her performance that wowed audiences at New York's Public Theater, is a theatrical force to be reckoned with and the answered prayer of McCraney's drama, which, like the storm-lashed house in which the play is set, has some structural vulnerabilities."
Read Full Review

Charles McNulty


Stage and Cinema - Highly Recommended

"...I will remember Phylicia Rashad's performance in Head of Passes until the day I die. She is an emotional hurricane, often still, even funny-while in the eye of the storm-but then raging and howling with a pain rooted so deeply inside the love and bondage of family and faith, that you can't breathe. Sometimes, neither can she."
Read Full Review

Samuel Garza Bernstein



Follow Us On Twitter